Australian Capital Territory


Situated in Australia’s capital, the ACBC ACT is committed to building closer links between the Australian Capital Territory, Australia and the People’s Republic of China.

Founded on 3 March 2016, the Australian Capital Territory Branch is the newest Branch of the Australia China Business Council. The launch of the ACT Branch took place at the National Press Club and was attended by the ACT Chief Minister Andrew Barr and Minister Cai Wei, Charge d'Affaires of the Chinese Embassy in Australia and The Hon John Brumby AO, National President of Australia China Business Council.

As Australia’s capital city, Canberra has enjoyed a strong and enduring relationship with China, epitomised by the Canberra-Beijing Sister City relationship formalised in 2000. Canberra has also played host to a number of high profile Chinese delegations including Chinese Presidents Xi Jinping, Hu Jintao and Jiang Zemin. Most recently, Canberra hosted the official signing ceremony of the China Australia Free Trade Agreement, signed by China's Commerce Minister Gao Hucheng and then Prime Minister Tony Abbott in July 2015.

Canberra is the site of ACBC’s premier event, the annual Canberra Networking Day. This members-only event is a unique opportunity for members to meet with senior government ministers including participation from the Prime Minister, Foreign Minister and Trade Ministers.

Branch Objectives:

  • Promote stronger business links between the Australian Capital Territory and the People’s Republic of China;
  • To provide opportunities for our members to develop networks and collaborate with their peers;
  • To provide members with useful market data to enhance their China engagement;
  • To bring the interests and concerns of our members to the attention of the Australian and Chinese Governments and other policy makers and administrators in Australia and China;





Sung Lee

President, ACT Branch

Jenny Chen

Treasurer, ACT Branch

For more information, please contact the ACT Branch:



Executive Committee

Lewis Jones, China Connex

Charles Zhan, Moulis Legal

Andrew Ng, Octavo Wines

David Moore, MinterEllison

Graeme Shaw, Shaw Vineyard Estate

Jane Golley, Australian National University

Jeremy Mitchell, Huawei

Katherine Yang, KWM

Kent Peters, Canberra Grammar School

Lawrence Pratchett, University of Canberra

Rhiannon Bach, Casino Canberra

Aaron O'Neil, Aspen Medical